Frequently Asked Questions
NMC Utah FAQ’s
If you are considering applying for a medical cannabis card but aren’t sure if you’d qualify, don’t worry! If your card isn’t approved, there’s no charge for your visit.
We offer house calls for an additional $100 in Utah or Salt Lake County. We also offer an expanded customer service to help with computer intake paperwork and send you a printed card for an additional $50 for new patients, and $30 for renewing patients.
For those in a Skilled Nursing or Assisted Living Facility, a Nursing Manager or Patient Care Coordinator should be designated on applicant address information, not the patient’s room number.
For more information feel free to call us. We’re here to help.
What will I need to qualify for a new Utah Med Card?
When you reserve your Lehi or St. George new patient appointment, our confirmation email will contain all the links to complete PRIOR to seeing us. Please remember that not all conditions qualify. Please review the Utah Qualifying Health Conditions for medical cannabis below, and document any items in bold on your intake form.
Chronic Non-Malignant Pain: pain lasting longer than two weeks that is not adequately managed, in the qualified medical provider’s opinion, despite treatment attempts using conventional medications other than opioids or opiates or physical interventions. Please note, most patients in Utah qualify with this category. If you complete your intake form and document current medications and past conventional treatments, medical records are usually not necessary.
Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
Persistent Nausea that is not significantly responsive to traditional treatment, except for nausea related to:
pregnancy, cannabis-induced cyclical vomiting syndrome, or cannabinoid hyperemesis syndrome.
Please note, if you seeking a med card for this condition, please let us know who your gastro-enterologist is on your intake form.
Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis
Epilepsy or debilitating seizures
Multiple Sclerosis or persistent and debilitating muscle spasms
Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) that is being treated and monitored by a licensed health therapist (defined here), and that: has been diagnosed by a healthcare provider by the Veterans Administration and documented in the patient’s record; or has been diagnosed or confirmed by evaluation from a psychiatrist, doctorate psychologist, a doctorate licensed clinical social worker, or a psychiatric APRN. Please note, patients qualifying with PTSD must be seeing a therapist AND provide a note from their Utah therapist stating that you are their patient and that you present symptoms or a diagnosis of PTSD.
A terminal illness when the patient’s life expectancy is less than six months, or if the individual is receiving hospice care
HIV or acquired immune deficiency syndrome
A rare condition or disease that affects less than 200,000 individuals in the U.S., as defined in federal law, and that is not adequately managed despite treatment attempts
Ok, I’ve come to see you and I qualified..how will I get my card?
Log back into evs.utah.gov to make a payment of $15 to the State for the issuance of your med card. Hover over the Tracking Inbox and click ‘Patient’.
Click on your first name.
Then click on the ‘+new’ button to make your payment. Once you make this payment, your patient status will change to ‘Active Conditional’.
Your med card is issued immediately and emailed to you.
If you don’t see that email, log back on to evs.utah.gov.
Hover over the Tracking Inbox and click ‘Patient’.
Click on your first name,
a blue ‘Print Card’ box should appear at the top left of your screen.
How much medicine can I possess legally under Utah’s medical cannabis program?
113 grams of unprocessed flower, and up to 20 grams of thc in other forms, such as concentrate. These can be possessed at one time.
Will medical cannabis protect me from discrimination from landlords or employers?
No. Landlords can still use it as an excuse to evict you. Private companies can still fire you for testing positive.
What are the restrictions of traveling with my cannabis medicine?
We recommend printing the card and keeping a copy at all times when carrying cannabis medicine. We also recommend carrying medicine in the trunk, along with the original packaging. If you want to put it into another container, just keep the original container with it.
What will a pharmacy require for me to purchase?
You will need your med card and valid state issued ID or Passport. Different pharmacies will have different requirements for your first visit, so visit their website first. A pharmacist will take the time to go over all their products with you to help you choose a good form and dosage. Some may require an appointment be set ahead of time.
When will I need to renew and how does that work?
Patients should renew their card in the 30 days prior to their med card’s expiration date. Remember to reserve your appointment at nmcutah.com when you receive your instruction email from the state 30 days prior to expiration.
Unless a patient requests a shorter card period, patients are certified for a full year. Renewal appointments with your QMP are generally conducted via telehealth. If our in-person availability suits you better, just pick a convenient time to come see us in Lehi or St. George. Renewal visit options start at $99 and the state charges a $15 fee regardless of card time period that can be paid once your appointment is complete. Once you complete both our renewal payment and the $15 EVS payment, your status becomes ‘Renewal Completed’ and there is nothing left to do on your part. A new card will be emailed to you from the state the day AFTER your current card period expires.
What types of Medical Cannabis is allowed?
Smoking marijuana is not allowed in Utah, but patients may purchase a Medical Marijuana device that warms marijuana into a vapor without the use of a flame, delivering marijuana to an individual’s respiratory system (such as a vaporizer or an electric dabbing rig). Although smoking Medical Cannabis is prohibited in Utah, vaping is legal.
Medical Cannabis is available in the following forms under the Utah Medical Cannabis Act:
- A tablet or capsule
- Concentrated oil, like cartridges for vaping
- A liquid suspension
- Topical or transdermal lotion or cream
- Sublingual preparation or tincture
- A gelatinous cube (gummy)
- Unprocessed cannabis flower
- Wax or resin
Keep in mind, there may be some experimenting needed to determine the best form and dosage, especially if you have never tried cannabis before. Be patient, cannabis is a special plant and every person’s body chemistry is unique. When determining dosage, you will hear the adage, ‘Start low and go slow’. Using some CBD in conjunction with THC products can help to reduce the risk of getting ‘too high’. Your pharmacists at cannabis dispensaries will help you select an appropriate choice.
What pharmacies are open?
301 S. Main Street
Cedar City, UT
(435) 244 4485
Bloc St George
1624 S Convention Center Drive
St George, UT
Bloc South Jordan
10392 S Jordan Gateway
South Jordan, UT
1991 S 3600 W
Salt Lake City, UT
484 South 1750 West
Deseret Wellness~ Provo
222 North Draper Lane
3633 N Thanksgiving Way,
PERFECT EARTH MODERN APOTHECARY – LOGAN
2150 Main Street #1,
PERFECT EARTH MODERN APOTHECARY – OGDEN
3775 S Wall Ave.
Ogden, Ut 84405
711 S State St
580 W 100 N,
West Bountiful, UT
Home Delivery Available – Go to website to register
Use new patient code: NMC100